Fresh Squeezed Home

Read the Prologue...

Read Chapter One...

Read Reviews...

Buy the book...

Versatile Arts Special...

Fresh Squeezed has been getting some great reviews from authors and fans since it's been released. Have a look at some of the following:

Reviews on Goodreads

Reviews on Amazon

Selected Reviews

"The perfect mixture of funny and thrill"

January 22, 2013

From Jenn's Review Blog

This book was a real surprise for me. It has the perfect mixture of funny and thrill. Mob hitmen, corporate espionage, clowns and vegetarian drug distributers all play a part here. There are other surprising characters too. I literally laughed so hard I had sore stomach muscles and tears in my eyes. The other part of the story, the murder mystery part, is fantastic too and really does keep you guessing until the surprising, and hilarious conclusion. I know absolutely nothing about fishing but I was completely drawn into this story, fishing and boats included. There are many unique characters and you get a little piece of each as you go along that just makes you want to know more. There's just enough of a tease at the end to leave me hoping there will be more to Juice's story!

4.0 out of 5 stars

January 8, 2013

From Night Owl Reviews

Fresh Squeezed is a quirky and oddly irreverent novel about the vagaries of small town life with a vastly humorous twist and not a little good old insanity. From the ex-Mafia enforcer hiding in the town under an assumed name and a new identity, to the wife of the local co-op who is on more than friendly terms with most of the town, to the loony tune vegetarian compound just outside of town that is more interested in drug production than vegetables, the story is filled with more than enough oddly charming characters, and more than a few bizarre and entertaining plot twists. It is a novel that will engage a reader from the start, drawing them into the small town insanity that is Wanaduck, Washington. It is a totally enjoyable book.

Strange happenings are afoot in the small town of Wanaduck, Washington. There are a few too many new faces in town, and a few too many more familiar faces have disappeared from town, often under mysterious and often violent circumstance. Former Mafia enforcer turned informant Anthony “Juice” Verrone knows that there is more to this mystery than meets the eye. And it all seems to center around the local electric co-op and their hydroelectric dam, as well as the standoffish vegetarian compound outside town. When a terribly inept hired hitman arrives in town, no one is safe, least of all Juice and a few others. And when another hitman hits town, the proverbial fur will fly, and bodies will fall. Can Juice survive long enough to go back to normal life? Come visit for the Asparagus Festival and find out.

4.0 out of 5 stars

August 15, 2012

Fresh Squeezed, by Bonnie Biafore and James Ewing, started out very My Cousin Vinny and then exploded into a true crime version of Northern Exposure, with a cavalcade of wacky characters snared in an ever-evolving, ever-expanding web of mystery, murder, and big money.

There’s lots of intrigue to be had, with small-town politics gone bad, a murderer (or several) on the loose, and a good-guy mobster, Anthony “Juice” Verrone, former Mafia enforcer and guest of the Witness Security Program, who wants to get to the bottom of the mystery, but has to remain hidden. Juice is a guy who knows that in Washington, the coffee is very good, and who can appreciate a hot nurse with a very liberal sense of sexual ethics. Physical therapy, Cialis, you can see where all that leads to.

Yet, just when I thought I knew where the story was headed, enter the evil, murderous lesbians who finally prove how diabolical a vegetarian hot dog can be.

And you have hitmen, of course—one an amateur who comes from the pest control industry and the other far more professional, but who finds himself in a shootout with Dale Earnhardt Junior look-alikes. This book just might prove that fiction is stranger than truth.

The setting is well-drawn and homespun, with the local restaurant, “The Tuck ‘er Inn”, serving up laughs, intrigue and chicken wings.

The strength of the book is the humor, the characters, and the setting, and the mystery is handled really well. Really, evil lesbians with a James Bond villain lair. I never saw that coming.

The cast got a bit too large for me, and I had some trouble remembering the characters, but that just might be because I’m getting older. I would have liked to see a tighter story structure and more of a character arc for our hero, Juice, who gets lost in the action but remains likable.

All in all, a fun, reckless summer read.

4.0 out of 5 stars Squeezing laughter from mayhem

August 24, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Kindle Edition)

In the first scene when federally-protected witness Juice Varonne is nearly drowned by a giant hot dog, you know Fresh Squeezed is going to put a unique, twisted humor to work to solve this murder mystery. Biafore and Ewing don't disappoint, churning out character after character who truly are "characters." Combine dimwitted thieves stealing flash drives of school plays with small town politics and throw in some mob players and you have a 21st century Mayberry mystery.

I'll admit I had a hard time in the beginning trying to figure out who was who and how they all played into the main plotline, but each character has such a unique personality it was easy to keep track of everyone as the threads came together. The mystery plot kept me guessing till the end and the humor made it a fine ride along the way.

With repeated references to food, drink and trout, reading Fresh Squeezed was a little like reading a 356 page menu at a bizarre restaurant owned by an Italian "family." Will I go back to sample another dish? If these two authors cook up another mystery like this one, you bet I will.

5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFULLY ENTERTAINING...

November 10, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Paperback)

Quirky, insane, a delightful read, and letter perfect. The authors' combined sense of humor while enacting a unique plot and questionable characters, all designed to entertain, certainly meets its mark. Bravo!

4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky fun read.

November 8, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Paperback)

It was riveting from start to finish! Juice/Ted's strength and drive plays well against the other quirky characters (each more peculiar than the last). I like that plot kept me guessing until the end. It felt like a Carl Hiaasen novel transported from Florida to the pacific northwest.

5.0 out of 5 stars Squeezed

November 7, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Kindle Edition)

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Rudy's fishing traits are similar to mine and he hooked me right away. This book is well-written and the cover art is perfect! All of the errors by the hitmen were so smoothly presented that I could believe it happened. The ending was not what I expected either! Can't wait for another book!

5.0 out of 5 stars Die laughing

November 2, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Paperback)

Comical, crazy, nearly out of control. A frenetic tale of stupid criminals. Meet Juice Verrone, an anti-hero and reformed hitman who dodges the bullets and for once in his life, does the right thing...barely. The laughs accumulate faster than the dead bodies.

5.0 out of 5 stars This was a very fun read

October 19, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Paperback)

This was a delightful book to read. First and foremost, it is a good and engaging story. Second, it is very funny--I caught myself laughing out loud several times which rarely happens. Good job.

5.0 out of 5 stars Fellow writer J.A. (John) Turley

October 1, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Paperback)

I know nonfiction-author Ms. Biafore through her multiple, world-class QuickBooks titles, and was pleased to see she'd ventured into fiction with a debut novel. I went to a book-signing, bought "Fresh Squeezed," and got hooked up front. Lots of well-defined crazy characters, each with an agenda seldom shared with other characters. It was good I trusted the writer, because it wasn't obvious how anybody in the town would survive the interlocked craziness--murder, politics, Mafia, sex, fishing, humor (all the basic food groups). But my head felt "fresh squeezed" while wondering if the protagonist would survive the growing challenges he faced from so many things happening at once. But not to worry--I enjoyed the pace and all the subplots meshed together at all the right places. Had she toned down the story, smoothed out the characters, and made it less complex, I would have been pleased to give a solid rating of 4. But she didn't . . . so it's a 5! A good read, written by a highly-organized brain, and now my wife's laughing in all the right places. Nice job, Ms. Biafore

4.0 out of 5 stars Dam the politicians

September 24, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Paperback)

Anthony "Juice" Verrone, mobster turned good guy under Witness Protection, keeps Fresh Squeezed,by Bonnie Biafore and James Ewing moving frantically. with the help of super straight accountant Rudy and Chief of Police Dickie. Local politicians and vegetable growers have opposing plans for the dam and the town. The fast paced novel features a long list of eccentric characters involved in underhanded plots, outrageous sexual exploits, and intrigue. The witty, fast moving dialogue and clever twists kept me reading late at night. I'm looking forward to more.

4.0 out of 5 stars Carl Hiassen and Lee Child mix

September 20, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Paperback)

This book was a little difficult to keep track of the players, but worth the effort. I think it ends up being a mix of Carl Hiassen and Lee Child with "Juice" being the hero. Great book for their first book together. I look forward to the sequel!

4.0 out of 5 stars It's a crackin' fun read

September 14, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Kindle Edition)

Is crime-comedy a category of novels? I don't know but I enjoyed this as a nice change of pace. My typical read is either hard sci-fi, spy thrillers or some new fiction that's gotten good reviews. There is a lot going on in this story but not so much you can't keep up. The characters all seem well developed without dwelling on any one too much. The plot gets kind of crazy but I think that's a good thing. It's all a bit comically absurd and there are some nice one liners. The book is well written, keeps you smiling and once you get the cast sorted, keeps moving right along.

4.0 out of 5 stars Don't just "duck", run for cover.

September 13, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Paperback)

I loved this book. Reminiscent of Carl Hiassen's eco-farces, this book is about murder and intrigue surrounding villainous and fraudulent efforts to squeeze more revenue from Wanaduck, Washington's hydroelectric utility. Wanaduck? You should want to, because the bullets fly in a Pulp Fiction like firefight at the end. Peopled by characters from society's fringes, this one so engrossed me, I read it in two days. Easily a 5-star book except the authors make you wait for the sequel to find out what was actually in the missing 30 minutes of the commission's video and who it incriminates. Sequel? The last paragraph almost guarantees it.

4.0 out of 5 stars Forensic accountants can be lovable too.

August 29, 2012 This review is from: Fresh Squeezed (Kindle Edition)

I'm not normally a fan of the crime comedy genre, but Rudy Touchous won me over. Rudy and all the other whacked out characters in this book had me shaking my head in wonder at times and rolling on the floor at others. Can't wait for the sequel!